top of page



Dec 16, 2022 – Over the past few days, the Super Shorts London Film Festival once again hosted its annual event at the lovely Close-Up Cinema in Shoreditch. Out of almost two thousand local and international submissions, an eclectic batch of 38 short films were selected to be screened at the 2022 edition. Unexpected snow and train strikes threatened to throw a bit of a wrench in the works. Nonetheless, Super Shorts London was pleased to welcome a number of dedicated film enthusiasts at its smaller yet cosy event. A big thanks to all our guests for coming out to enjoy these independent film gems!


With the jury members having cast their votes, we are pleased to announce to you today the 2022 Super Shorts London award winners:


Best Narrative Film: Idol (Australia) by Alex Wu. “A young Chinese celebrity is called into an emergency meeting after a fan of his commits suicide.”


Best Documentary Film: Laboratory No.2 (Kurdistan) by Edris Abdi, Aware Omer. “The story of an old man who has been working in the autopsy department of Sulaimaniyah University of Medical Sciences for 14 years.”


Best Experimental Film: Diomysus (UK) by Emily Elizabeth Morus-Jones. “An experimental film where a group of mice (voiced by members of the UK polyamorous community who's identities are masked using puppetry) discuss their experiences of polyamory. Diomysus asks the question - are we (the audience) more open to taboo ideas if unconscious bias is eliminated?”


Best Animated Film: Dragon (USA) by Dane Cree, Lisa Poppe. “A lonely dragon makes his way through a series of emotional obstacles and physical changes as he goes on a search to find his friends.”


Best Underground Film: The Prisoner (Poland) by Łukasz Gierańczyk, Filip Drzewiecki. “One night with an ex-convict on the streets of Vancouver. Inspired by cinéma-vérité.”


Best Music Video: Ute (Poland) by Maciej Pisarek. “Desert, voices, mystery... Music video from a debut, independent album "Now The Grass Grows Through My Skin" by Anchey.”


Best Super Short Film: Dear Doctor, (UK) by Jasmina Saleh. “A visual poem about the pain and misdiagnosis of Endometriosis - utilising striking imagery and raw words to combine an effective and poignant piece.”


Best Director: Antonello Schioppa for Where do we go from here (Italy). “A woman's lifeless body is lying on a room's floor. A shocked man is staring at it. Beyond the closed door, someone is quietly trying to get in: he's a 9 years old child. These three are a family. Or what's left.”


Best Actor (gender neutral): Alex Leombruno in I Love You Don't Leave Me (USA). “An absurdist drama following the endless torment experienced by a young woman dealing with an eating disorder.”


Best UK Film: The Electricity In Me (UK) by Mat Sheldon. “Years after giving up her newborn son for adoption, a woman confronts her trauma and memories of the man she calls 'my monster’.”





Voce (UK) by Emily May Smith

Bad Dream (USA) by Camilo Diaz

Dragon (USA) by Dane Cree, Lisa Poppe

The Hardest Fight Of My Life (UK) by Owain Astles

Stupid Animal (UK) by Alex Hein

Free Fall (France) by Emmanuel TENENBAUM

Cabin Ban (Norway) by Finn Walther

Once There Was III (USA) by Nina McNeely

Mamma (Norway) by Aslak Danbolt

This is fine (Italy) by Gianmarco Nepa

Vegetative (France) by Hannah Papacek Harper

Dynamite (France) by Jim Vieille

The Prisoner (Poland) by Łukasz Gierańczyk, Filip Drzewiecki

Take me (UK) by Luca Asta

Upsodown (Australia) by Nathan Ceddia

Laboratory NO.2 (Iraq) by Edris Abdi, Aware Omer

Dear Doctor, (UK) by Jasmina Saleh

Sleepy (UK) by Rich Webber

Too Close (UK) by Nikola McMurtrie

Idol (Australia) by Alex Wu

Mind the Gap (UK) by Hannah Oliver

The Electricity In Me (UK) by Mat Sheldon

I Love You Don't Leave Me (USA) by Alex Leombruno

Frank & Emmet (USA) by Carlos F. Puertolas

To Do (UK) by Saul Pankhurst

Leap of Faith (UK) by Peter Palmer

Rebirth (Sweden) by Nils Agdler

Keratin (UK) by Charles Jimenez, Scarlett Wang, Catarina Dias Silva, Stella Rosenkvist, Isobel O Gorman

Kinguio (Brazil) by Barbara Magri, Vicente França

Diomysus (UK) by Emily Elizabeth Morus-Jones

Monster Mayhem (Canada) by Paul Constantakis

Where do we go from here (Italy) by Antonello Schioppa

I Had A Strange Dream Last Night (USA) by Mira Haley Steuer

Ute (Poland) by Maciej Pisarek

Resurface (Norway) by Jenny Andersen

The Pleasure in Pain (UK) by Curtis Blair

Generation (UK) by Riccardo Fusetti

Ben Again (UK) by Simon Long

bottom of page